Thailand – Australia – United Kingdom

Task Loading Tips For Underwater Photographers & Videographers

by Becky Kagan for DivePhotoGuide.com

“Take a deep breath” is what I told myself as I knelt down on the hard rock floor about 400 feet inside a Florida cave system. It’s been one of those days, my buddy had a few equipment problems so I was standing around in the hot sun in my drysuit, I was using a new piece of dive gear that I wasn’t comfortable with yet, my mask was leaking, and I needed to get the shots completed!  I stopped; taking a deep breath after also fighting a scooter with an over weighted video camera mounted on top of it. I had just been fighting it the whole way and the stress was starting to take over. All I needed was one more thing to go wrong and I knew it wouldn’t be a good situation. It just shouldn’t go this far, I was too task loaded and called the dive.
Task loading can come in many forms and it’s different for everyone day to day. Task loading can be anything physical to mental or a combination of both. It could be pushing an over weighted camera with lights in a strong current while trying to set up shots, positioning a model, dealing with sea sickness, a broken fin strap, and a depth and time limitation. All of these little problems can build up into one larger problem so it’s important to recognize when you’re overwhelmed and when to call the dive before it becomes dangerous.

Continue Reading Here

Comments are closed.